Week 28, Day 7- Nursery in a Nutshell

SO this weekend we finally got to get going in the nursery!!!  Best feeling ever.  It all started Friday while my husband and I were at work- my BFF’s Fiance (and our new friend as well) came over and painted the whole room- walls, trim and ceilings all in a morning…the man is amazing and we love him.  So Friday I came home to a beautifully painted nursery and it made my heart so full to know that after being good friends and lending the room out for a couple months- we are also blessed by friends of our own to do something so generous as this.  It really does all work out in the end. 

Saturday morning I met with a potential day care provider for Elliot- I’ll post more about that this week as I am meeting with two other women later on…and then after that I came home, woke up the hubby and asked with bright eyes, “Can we go to Ikea?!”  He said yes and was excited too.  So we went and looked around, found the crib, dresser and some organizational things for the room.  I was pleasantly surprised to see the crib I had picked out DOES turn into a toddler bed as well- SCORE!  We got EVERYTHING for under $300!!!  So pumped about that since we were the ones buying it and don’t really have the money to splurge…at all.  When we got home we both said we should try and start putting together something before we had to go to our friends’ for dinner- we had 2 hours.  My husband decided on the crib and by the time I had gone downstairs to make us a snack and come back up he was half way done!  Of all things I never figured the crib would be the easiest thing to put together, but it was.  After that he started on the dresser without even having me ask!  I love that man.  He was able to get most of that done (while I lounged on the futon watching) before we went out and then wanted to finish when we came home..it was all done in a day and it felt so good.  One mishap was the bottom piece of wood at the bottom- the one on the front should go on the back and back on front..so we have an unfinished piece on the front.  He said he could take it apart and switch it- but with Ikea stuff I am REALLY hesitant about ever doing that.  In the end I think I will paint that bottom piece maybe the blue accent color of his room and maybe paint Elliot’s name on there or something.  We can make it work.

The last piece of furniture to go in was “the chair”- and that was this morning before my husband went to work.  I had bought a glider for only $30 on a FB yard sale page.  It was my first official purchase..and the first thing I really “hunted” for bargain.  When we had guests the chair has been in our living room just serving (with out my intention) as an extra seat.  I CRINGE anytime anyone sat in it.  It seemed like they were always leaning on the arms in some weird way, or putting their feet up on it- it was weird…it seemed like everyone’s butt was attracted to the damn thing even though there was plenty of other seating.  Tonight we are having some friends’ along with their 4 kids under 6 over and wanted that chair safely in Elliot’s room- where.it.will.stay.  I sat it in this morning quickly and had a huge smile.

So that’s about it for now.  Paint is done, furniture is in and the finishing details will come in the next couple weeks.  My shower is the first Sunday in May so hope to have it pretty much done then!

8 thoughts on “Week 28, Day 7- Nursery in a Nutshell

  1. congrats on the nursery furniture! we also went this past weekend on a massive IKEA binge buy, but unfortunately the crib we’ve been eyeing, the Sundvik, was sold out 😦 but we did end up getting a bunch of STUVA pieces for the room; I love the flexibility of that set for the baby/children’s room! You should post a pic of your nursery once complete 🙂

    • The Sundvik was also sold out at our location too! I can see why it’s so popular. We went with the Gulliver crib and the Hemnes 3 drawer chest to use as changing table/ dresser. Oh how I love Ikea 🙂

  2. Yay! You’ve got a great guy there!!
    Our crib turns into a toddler bed too – which I love! 🙂
    I agree with JeniQ, we need pics!

    • I posted some on a previous post- as of now the room still has remnants of Ikea assembly (card board boxes, drills, plastic bags) every where so doesn’t look the cutest…I will be sure to post some pics when we have it all done…which should be after the shower in a couple weeks!

  3. The pictures look PERFECT and it sounds like everything is moving along! SO exciting 🙂 Isn’t it hilarious how protective you feel over the nursery “stuff”…. I don’t know what it is, but I feel instant anxiety when people (especially messy little children) start playing in the nursery… especially now with our VERY WHITE rocking sheep. I’m hoping that once our girl comes, she will “christen” the room and I can relax… but for now, I’m thinking the anxiety will continue.

Leave a comment